Skillcrush, Poetry, and a Sweet Little Diddy on Donuts

Long time, no see, my lovely blog. The spans of time I spend away from you seem to stretch longer and longer with each post, don’t they. Alas, life has been busy, if not totally crazy, and leisure time is sparse, and there’s way too many things to explore and life to live for me to spend it online. Unless I’m browsing Amazon for books, of course…

BUT, looks like I’m going to have to force myself online quite a bit more in the near future, after my discovery of a sweet little website called Skillcrush.

For those of you not yet in the know — and trust me, you want to be in the know — Skillcrush is an online school of sorts that offers classes in Web Design and Web Development. It’s focus is aimed primarily at women interested in Computer Science, professionally or for fun.

Skillcrush Page

I know my last post was chock-full of me ranting about my disdain for technology and the internet. But what can I say, miracles do happen. The techie gods found me, shined their light down on me, opened their arms and said, “Welcome, child.”Have I truly been born again and seen the digital light? Only time will tell.

ANYWHO. Ever since I started dating a computer coder and CTO of a successful start-up company over the past several months, my fascination with computer technology and the vast career opportunities involved has stirred and grown. I also finally accepted that that’s where the big bucks are right now. Or at least enough bucks to keep a recent graduate off the streets.

Processed with VSCOcam with q1 preset

Then about a week ago, I heard an interview with Skillcrush founder Adda Birnir, on the podcast Stuff Mom Never Told You. After listening to her discuss all the benefits from knowing even just the basics of Computer Science, I thought, what the hell, let’s check this out. And I enrolled in the free 10-Day Bootcamp.

And now I’m hooked.

Bootcamp screencap

The bootcamp covers the foundational terms and definitions of web development, as well as a simple, fun tutorial on HTML and CSS.

From my brief experience, the class presentations are simple, fast-paced, consistently interactive, and even creatively invigorating.

Because, what was one of my project assignments? “Write some HTML poetry, a novel, or haiku.” Little ol’ artsy-fartsy me read “poetry” and was like, “YUSSS! I am going to write the shit out of this HTML!!!”

And I did!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Donuts

I love Donuts. No. I absolutely adore donuts

Cream-filled

Sprinkled

Glazed

Berries or other confections on top

Dripping with chocolate or sweet bright icing

I’ll eat them all. And I’ll love it

With all my heart and stomach

Let’s be honest, lovely blog, you’re not the only one I’ve been neglecting as a writer. I’ve barely managed to sputter out some journal entries over the past several months, and I’m sorry for it but I’m also so totally not! Being too busy to write isn’t necessarily a bad thing, ya know?

Obviously I still have the inspiration in me, even if it is just for silly stuff like my cute little donut poem. In the words of the wonderful Richard Hell,  “All the most serious art is not only sad but hilarious. What other intelligent way to live is there but to laugh about it?”

Well said, sir. Well said.

Leave a Reply

